Chapter 02 – Two Friends Who Love Each Other and An Evil Little Brother

『Flowering Season ―A Study of Black Rose―』
Boys Love game ※ R-18.
7800 yen, tax excluded.

It is immensely difficult to conquer the game. I’m grateful to me who worked hard completing it. I managed to clear all the routes and collected every single artwork bonus. It was truly a feast.

If I’m not mistaken, my big brother is supposed to be the protagonist, and Haru-nii is one of the capture target, which brought me to my current situation. This is the world of that BL game, and I am the protagonist’s little brother.

There are four capture targets in total, their names reflected one of the four seasons each. The current timeline is following the capture target representing the spring, Sakurai Haruki. I’ve seen them on a date several times, but it seems like they had a fight a while ago. I don’t know the details but it’s probably related to their secret rendezvous back then.

Although my recollection is a bit vague, Haru-nii and big brother should have had a physical relationship once, but at that time their feelings had not caught up yet. Not long after that, Haru-nii finally realized the feelings he has for big brother and quickly confesses, but big brother rejected him out of confusion.

Haru-nii who was hurt for being rejected decided to keep a distance from big brother because he is afraid he will do something he will regret later if he keeps seeing big brother. Not liking the loneliness of being away from Haru-nii, big brother also realized that he actually loves Haru-nii and gather up his courage to confess before the two people in love got together and happily roll on the sheets.

At this point, my two big brothers actually have done ‘it’ twice…
Then I realized, big brother… my one and only big brother who is supposed to be upright and walking the righteous way… I had complex feelings regarding this affair… it is still shocking even now.

There is no disgust though thanks to my previous life experience as veteran fujoshi!
Rather, I wanted to install an invisible spy camera to stalk them so I can monitor what they were up to whenever they busied themselves on their secret rendezvous.

I want to feed this rotten eyes, but on the other hand, I have a foundation from living as a healthy boy for several years, oh I feel so torn.

I’m not going to turn into one (gay), right?

I’m not particularly interested in love now… but if I really want to experience being in a relationship later, I believe girls are the best choice. I swear to protect my virtue at all cost! But as my memory of rotten girls has awakened, my rotten eyes are aching wanting to be feed…

※ ※ ※

Both my big brothers are in their third year in high school, and I am a first-year. The three of us attended the same high school, a co-ed academy by the name Kashikisono Gakuen. It is exactly the same school like the one in the BL game. Even though the girls in the game was made to appear bitchy and always eager to bother the protagonist as his love rivals, in reality, they are just your regular students. That’s my honest opinion after experiencing first hand having them as schoolmates.

Our uniform consists of a white shirt and blue blazer. It comes with a tie for the male students, and ribbon for female students, both are in red. They combined with a tartan plaid skirt and trousers, in a light blue and white color scheme.

To complete the look and represent what grade you are in, a brooch shall be pinned somewhere on the uniform. The brooch is in the form of rose petals. One petal for first-year students, two petals for second-year students, and three petals for third-year students.

The attractive uniform is said to be very popular. There are some who certainly wear them according to the regulations, but the majority of the students have broken the rules somewhere along the way, creating their own unique and most comfortable version of the uniform. Really make one wonder about the credibility of its reputation, huh? But let’s just say the imperfection of this uniform is what drives the students to pursue the road of fashion.

I actually wear my uniform according to the rules, but I left some of the blazer buttons opened. My big brother buttoned up his shirt and blazer properly, precisely the perfect style just like in the catalog. While Haru-nii does not wear his blazer and let his tie loose.

Leaving aside the student’s freedom in showcasing themselves, attending Kashikisono Gakuen still gives some people a lot of faces. As it is recognized as an elite school in the surrounding area, you will be looked upon with admiring gaze by others.

I wanted to chase after my brothers and did my best to get into the school. Having said that, It was not that hard because I don’t really have a problem with studying from the beginning. This might also be the courtesy of a being the high-spec protagonist’s younger brother.

Even so… the popularity of my brothers is amazing, after all. This elite school isn’t actually short on good-looking people, but even among them, my two big brothers and the other capture targets are undeniably in a whole another level.

I feel so sorry though for these side character ladies who are tiring themselves screaming ‘kya-kya-kya’ in the background… because “My big brother’s got a boyfriend!” I really want to say that. I’m willing to scream in the middle of the schoolyard, even, if only I have the heart to do so.

But you know what, my life also wasn’t any good… Every day was utterly heart-throbbing ever since I realized that my big brother and Haru-nii has become a couple. A! BL! Couple! Every time I came back home and saw Haru-nii’s shoes at the entrance, I forgot to breathe from all the excitement.

I hurriedly entered my room in panic as quietly as possible and practically trying to merge my ears with the walls hoping they could collect a glimpse of my big brother’s lustrous voice.

I really was successful in eavesdropping, but who would have thought this achievement will be too rewarding for my own’s good…

My brother is handsome and not so short and not feminine. Such a high-spec brother’s moans… who would have thought it would sound a lot lovelier than it was in the game of my memory!
Is he an angel?

It is difficult if I were to asked what was so particularly good about it, but when one’s been a veteran fujoshi since forever, been feeding your rotten ears with countless audio dramas, you just know what it takes to classify which ones are good or bad.

The shock was too great that I just took out my smartphone, put on my headphone as if listening to music while closing my eyes with complicated feelings.

When my two big brothers who finally learned of my presence checked on me and found me ‘sleeping’ feeling secretly relieved, I was actually guilty since I’m not sleeping. At all.

I’m sorry, brother.
Actually, I was wearing this headphone without any music on!
Oh, but the sounds from next room could be considered as music to my ears… cough.

Yeah, I decided.
Let’s save money to buy a high-quality voice recorder!

But truth to be told, my brothers are too defenseless. What if it wasn’t me that caught them in the act? It could be dangerous…
Since no one is home then it’s okay doing that in a broad daylight? Really…
I can’t help but look forward to the day when they will come out of the closet.

※ ※ ※

It is past eight o’clock in the morning. I was on my way to school. By the way, my big brother and Haru-nii left first to school. I know that It is great to be in love. But really, they really didn’t think of the possibility other people will grow suspicious of them, huh?

“Listen, Aki. Don’t you think that oniichan is weird nowadays?”

See? This is what I’m talking about. Finally someone with common sense.

This girl here who called me Aki so casually is my classmate, Sakurai Hina. She is also my childhood friend and Haru-nii’s little sister.

“Weird, such as?”

“He looks like someone who is in love… but he doesn’t have a girlfriend, right? Do you perhaps know something about it? Or hear from your brother?”

The thing is that big brother of mine is precisely the so-called ‘girlfriend’… or should I say, ‘boyfriend’?

“Let’s see~ Maybe the answer will come to you today.”

“Yes, thank you… Hey, what about you, Aki?”

“What? A girlfriend? I actually consider getting one.”

“I would be surprised to death if you really get one.”

“I knew you would say that.”

Hina is, after all, Haru-nii’s blood-related sister, it is impossible for her appearance to be below average. A pair of cute cat eyes in the same beautiful amber colored orbs as Haru-nii’s, and the beautiful cherry-colored lips that are pretty even without makeup, not to mention the milky white skin.

Her hair is in the same black color as Haru-nii, the straight silky hair flows down beautifully, looking so soft to touch. The left side of the hair is braided and tied up, and a large white ribbon is pinned to the tip, fluttering gently as she moves. Clearly the epitome of the popular cute little sister type! I’m jealous, I also wanted to be like this in my previous life.

The only flaw there is her personality, which is different from the handsome and cool Haru-nii, she tends to act like my mother and can be a bit of a bother. Speaking of which, Hina is naturally also popular, but I have not heard any stories concerning her have floated for some reason.

“And you, Hina? Is there perhaps a boyfriend?”

“There is no way I have one, okay! Why are you even asking when you already know yourself! Meanie Aki!”

“No need to get mad, okay…”

We continued to converse all the way to school. And it’s been about a month, huh. Was it around the second day of last month? I don’t know how much longer I can bear to keep this excitement under the radar. Brothers, please hurry up and do something.

But really, what will Hina’s reaction be when she learned that there are basically no ‘girlfriend’ behind Haru-nii’s weird behavior? I’m quite curious. I’m looking forward to it.

※ ※ ※

Since I want to interrogate my brothers as soon as possible. When the class is dismissed, I fled out of the classroom even though the bell hasn’t finished ringing yet, and rushed home with a small run.

“I’m home!”

Naturally, it was also present there today at the entrance, Haru-nii’s shoes. Nobody is welcoming me home even though I said my greeting, it looks like they’re on the second floor. Inside big brother’s room, to be exact.

Are they perhaps…
But today I want to hear the story!
I’m sorry dear brothers, but let me get in the way.

In order to make it clear that I came back, I purposely made a ruckus on the first floor, while casually munching on candies. In fact, I also consider crashing directly but knowing big brother he might not have any face left to face me if I chance upon them doing some unspeakable things. That’s why I decided to give them some time.

I’m really an evil little brother with common sense. I was about to call up to them and approach the stairs, only to be interrupted by their voices. I called out to them and smile.

“Oniichan! Haru-nii! Do you want to eat sweets?”

The two of them looked like they’re trying to appear as calm as possible as they gazed upon me from upstairs. Looks like they really are in a hurry trying to get out of big brother’s room.

“Sure, let’s eat there.”

It may be because of the rotten eyes brought in from the previous world, but both of them looked like they’re shining. And what’s with their glowing skin… clearly, they weren’t born that way… is it love, huh…

“Why don’t we eat them on oniichan’s room like always?”

What an evil little brother I am!
Come on, let me verify the crime scene!
Just open the window and ventilate it!
Let me experience the aftermath a little, will you!

“No, we’ll eat downstairs! Please prepare drinks, too!”

“Oh, right! Drink!”

No chance, huh. Okay… I’ll let you guys get away just this once.

“Okay, I’m waiting below.”

Still, the fun is coming.

※ ※ ※

Both of them came down eventually. Since I am still in my uniform, I made sure to properly button my shirt and wear it accordingly. Big brother can be a little naggy about things like this.

But hey, today’s main dish wasn’t about that trivial matter. I meticulously prepared the sweets and drinks on the table, creating the most comfortable mood hoping it would help ease them up a little. But as expected, I’m not good at beating around the bush, and immediately threw the bomb at them.

“You know, Haru-nii, Hina said you’ve been acting weird lately. You looked like you’re in love? She said she didn’t know what to do with you.”

“Guufu–“

Haru-nii accidentally spurts the carbonated juice he’s drinking onto me. This is quite annoying… Big brother seems to be drinking coffee elegantly, but if you look closely, the hand that was holding the cup has excreted a little too much power.

“When I heard her say that, it came down to me… aren’t you also kinda strange recently, oniichan? Did you two really got a girlfriend?”

The two of them completely shut their mouth. But I will not stop throwing. Rather, wait for my next attack!

“And nowadays, Haru-nii dropped by our house almost every day, right? Such a thing, wouldn’t your girlfriend get mad at you because you aren’t spending time with her?”

Let’s see how you will reason with me. I know I shouldn’t be feeling this, but this is actually a lot of fun! It’s really difficult to refrain myself from grinning and spoil my serious acting.

“More importantly, what about you? The girls in my class were talking about how adorable you are, popular aren’t you?”

“Eh? Me?”

It is certainly not something to boast about myself, but my appearance is indeed not that bad since I look kind of similar to big brother. But it is hopeless for me. I have many female friends… but I’ve never been confessed to. I’m quite bothered about the matter. Because I have the same refreshing face as big brother but why is our fate so different when it comes to love life? Unscientific! Is it perhaps the effect of not having the protagonist’s halo? I have to accept my fate it seems.

But wait, why are we talking about me out of the blue, don’t try to shift the topic!
Hmph. You almost got me, big brother, but I won’t let you!

“I’m alright! I was worried about big brother and Haru-nii, you know! So? So? What is it that made you both so busy these days?”

“I didn’t notice that you are quite the gossiper…”

“I didn’t know that, too…”

“Ah! Come on! Just tell me whatever it is that’s been bothering you, I promise I won’t tell anyone!” I said, coaxing them as if I was a mother trying to get her son to talk about why he came home with bruises.

It seems that they are wondering how to answer. Because they immediately meet each other in the eye. Really now? Eye contact? Aren’t you practically declaring that there really is something going on between you two, foolish lovey-dovey couple?

Okay then. If you want to talk then just talk. I’ll just pretend I didn’t notice anything. I’ll wait for the best strategy they could muster during this short time they communicate in that stupid way. Will they come up with lies? Because this is definitely one of the turning points in the game route.

“The truth is… we’re going out.” Haru-nii opened with a lovely smile.

…………Huh.
That’s it?

What, coming out of the closet is the best one they could think of? I thought I would be misled first, so I didn’t practice any reaction to come up with this kind of straightforward confession scenario. I must be making an extremely dumbfounded face. Big brother and Haru-nii are staring with a serious expression and slight anticipation as silence spread between us.

“… What–“

Big brother and Haru-nii suddenly burst out laughing. Huh? Maybe… it is that one scenario where they will jokingly ask, “Are you fooled”? Although honestly, I still don’t even know how to react to that.

“What do you think if we’re really in a relationship?”

“Huh?”

My brother asked me with a smile. He looks calm but I somehow could feel the tension coming from his body. And truth to be told, it makes me slightly nervous. No, who am I kidding? I’m actually super duper nervous that my hand was shaking a little.

This is the first time I’m facing this side of big brother… such expression, I’ve never seen it appear on big brother’s gentle face before. For a while, I can only silently look at him. My heart is beating too fast and nothing came out from my partly opened mouth in the end.

“… Just kidding?”

And big brother just blurted that out in an obviously forced joking manner all of a sudden, making the already tense atmosphere gawkier. But… big brother, are you okay!? That hand that was holding the huge cup is tottering so much, you know! Haru-nii is also staring worriedly at him. Big brother is really upset it seems because he is usually very careful.

“Sorry, I made you hear some nonsense.” Big brother muttered while looking at me with a bitter smile. Seeing the expression, my heart aches. At the same time, I suddenly had an idea of the cause of his uneasiness.

Don’t tell me… It was because he is afraid to be hated by me? Big brother… please forgive me! I feel like scum. I should have seen how serious they are with this relationship because they’re not the type to play around. What a hateful little brother I am!

My brother and I are very close, we depended on each other a lot. Both our parents are busy working so it was only us two siblings most of the times. Big brother would coax me and play with me every time I feel lonely, and he also made dinner for me. It is no exaggeration to say that I was brought up by big brother.

If it were me, having my relationship opposed by such a brother… If I and the love of my life were told I’m disgusting by the brother that I love the most… how painful that must be. I’m suddenly feeling so scared and sorry for my brother.

“Even if the two of you are really going out, what’s so wrong about that? Is it strange?”

“”Huh?”” The two made a dumbfounded expression at the same time. Their face as if screaming “What are you saying” because they clearly were not expecting that kind of response from me.

“From a long time ago, oniichan and Haru-nii were practically inseparable, so even if one day you tell me you started going steady I don’t think I will really see the difference from how it was before. But yeah, it will give me quite the shock for sure… For the time being, you should consider to properly explain to Hina because she’s been worried.”

In the end, I decided to reveal my thoughts to them. They weren’t trying to disclose about details yet and was sort of watching where this is going. I honestly want to wait until they are really ready to share with me about their story too, so I stop baiting them with trapping questions.

But what I really want them to know is that no matter what happens, I will never grow to hate big brother and Haru-nii. This is my true feelings. I’m sure I will feel the same even without the memories from my previous life.

“Huh? Are you really alright with that?”

“I’m so glad to hear that…”

They looked relieved and were laughing so happily. My brother’s uneasiness seems to have settled, and his shaking hands were also stopped. The tense atmosphere surrounding big brother and Haru-nii completely dissipated.

Even though I pretended to treat their confession as a joke today, I believe the day when they will be honest with me isn’t far. I would gladly watch over them carefully because it will be likely that they will face a difficult road ahead considering the road they are taking. I will even prepare a high definition video camera so I can closely keep an eye on them–cough.

This little brother is cheering for you! I really want to shout that but I know I have to be patient. So I will be an obedient little brother, no more evil little brother, and wait.

“Hina suspected that you got a girlfriend but I don’t think that’s the case. But do you have someone you like?” I said. “Who is your favorite person? I also want to hear it!”

Haru-nii, please hang in there. But I can’t help it since teasing him is fun. Finally, I felt like a heavy burden has been lifted in me. All is well that ends well… or not.

I was suddenly reminded of an utterly important matter.

It is the remaining three capture targets who weren’t tied to my brother. I don’t know what kind of development is happening in this world because of the changes going on, but if it is according to the game, the supposedly brokenhearted gays shouldn’t have had their hearts broken this time around.

A saying was suddenly being whispered into my head. If it’s a broken heart, isn’t it that? Some celebrities have been saying the same thing on TV several times whenever there is a breakup. Only new love can heal the loss from the old one. I hope you can find new love.

I suddenly had an urge to cheer on those pitiful heartbroken gays in my heart so they can find their own happiness! And while thinking that, I wonder what they were up to… Perhaps… they already started their own BL journey on finding a new love?

After all, I have equipped myself with this rotten eyes. And my rotten eyes have been aching for the next prey! Although the remaining three capture targets are varied in appearance and personality, they have one thing in common. It is precisely their good-looking gene that gives off main character vibe. It is impossible for my rotten eyes to ignore such delicious subjects to BL-ized!

That’s right. They should have someone experienced to watch over and guide them throughout their BL journey! Let me be the one to guide you, oh dear gorgeous gays!

My rotten brain was filled with such rotten thoughts that I failed to recall the fact that I looked just like my ‘protagonist’ big brother…

 


 

T/N: I decided to keep using ‘fujoshi’ and change ‘homo’ to ‘gay’ after a lot of considerations. And used ‘oniichan’ instead of ‘big brother’ when they’re conversing. I’m still looking for proofreader guys and anyone is welcome to apply! I’m so sorry for the quality of my translation I know it is not the best one provided out there but I can only say that I tried hard to keep true to the original text. If you find something you’re confused about the story, don’t ever hesitate to ask me in the comment section! Because I’ll gladly assist you to better understanding this beautiful work. Thank you so much for your heartwarming comments after reading this crappy translation, I really love you all! Have a nice day! (.づσ▿σ)づ

Support Me on Ko-fi

Last Chapter | Directory | Next Chapter

14 thoughts on “Chapter 02 – Two Friends Who Love Each Other and An Evil Little Brother

  1. Hello thanks for translating this. Umm…. I don’t really mind proofreading. I find it amusing to do, but I’m not that top notch at English. I think I can do a decent job at proofreading though that the most obvious mistakes are gone. If you really need one, I don’t mind to do it. I have plenty of time and I proofread before at another novel before (just began again, but very loose time limit there). But good luck with everything and take care. Also, I quite like this novel, that’s why I’m willing to reach out. If you click on my account, you’ll prob be able to find me with mail and stuff so yeah.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. my hand shaking..
    i never read bl novel so as along my rotten eyes read lines, my rotten brains make rotten imagination make me impossible to suppress strong desire in this rotten heart to read next chapter. the chapter wonderful though.
    thank you.

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a comment